Primer Twenty Five

A little girl communes with an adorable, friendly pony.

Part of being finished is being able to step outside of your own head. When you look around at others, I want you to be able to really notice what they’ve put effort into. It’s all about empathy. When you see someone who’s clearly put effort into something, I want you to compliment them–and I want you to mean it. Furthermore, I want you to do this at least once every day, and that’s habit 25: Pay someone a sincere compliment.

This works best if you do it in person or over the phone; digital compliments lose a lot of their oomph.

How well did you score today? Give yourself 1 point for each task you accomplished and post your score below in the comments. I’ll do the same.  If you’re new here, don’t dive in here! I’d love it if you went all the way back to Primer One. This finishing course is all about slowly and steadily building up habits, so don’t shortchange yourself by blasting ahead–win this race tortoise-style.

1. Apply chap stick.
2. Drink a big glass of water.
3. Sit and stand with excellent posture.
4. Exercise for thirty minutes.
5. Clean your nails thoroughly.
6. Dress in clothes that fit you perfectly.
7. Apply lotion to your feet and hands at bedtime.
8. Wear one piece of pretty jewelry.
9. Wear a dab or a spritz of perfume.
10. Stretch gently for five minutes at bedtime.
11. Floss and thoroughly brush your teeth twice a day.
12. Smile at everyone.
13. Refuse to say anything bad about anyone, including yourself.
14. Remove profanity from your speech.
15. Go to bed in time to get eight hours of sleep.
16. Wear a signature piece.
17. Cook at least one meal with healthy ingredients.
18. Don’t criticize anyone.
19. Look your conversation partners in the eye.
20. Pronounce every syllable when you speak.
21. Read the headlines.
22. Make your bed.
23. Only wear shoes that are in excellent condition and that fit you well.
24. Give your conversation partner your full attention.
25. Pay someone a sincere compliment.

– Miss Fitzgerald

1 Comment

Filed under Beauty

One response to “Primer Twenty Five

  1. I love when I can fine a complement that is about the person and not something external, like their clothes or hair. When I receive them It’s so much more wonderful feeling. Making this a daily does make me look for that certain something in the people close to me.

    However I also love to toss out the cute top and I like your hair, to total strangers I see in when I out and about. It’s fun to see them light up. Especially the some what sullen teen girls. *:)

    I’m not counting points. It became for me to much like a chore. I do see each day that I am mostly on track, and the things that do not happen are not always the same. So I am retaining the good habits on a rotating basis. I’m sure they will all kick in in time.

Leave a Reply

